4.3 Facilities in Freiburg


    The Albert-Ludwig University of Freiburg was founded in 1457 as a classical comprehensive university, making it one of the oldest higher education institutions in Germany. Successful in the Excellence Initiative, the university also boasts an illustrious history with numerous Nobel Prize recipients. Over 21,000 students, 150 degree programs, and more than 5,000 employees are working at the Albert-Ludwigs-University. The university is divided into 11 faculties, 18 research centers, and numerous central service departments. Whereas the faculties organize and coordinate instruction and research for related fields of study, the research centers function as a platform for research projects spanning several faculties or disciplines. The central service departments provide university-wide services and thus provide the infrastructural framework for university operations in general.

    The University Medical Center Freiburg

    The University Medical Center Freiburg is a tertiary care hospital. All medical specialties and subspecialties are represented at this institution. It is also one of the largest medical facilities in Europe. The University Medical Center Freiburg engages in patient health care, research, and teaching. The Center has more than 8,000 employees and is the biggest employer in the region. Moreover, it has 1,800 beds in over 110 wards. There are approximately 54,000 inpatient admissions annually and over 300,000 patient visits per year in the outpatient clinics.


    Links related to institutions of the University Medical Center involved in the IMBS program:


     Photos: © Zimmermann


    New since 2018!!! 
    Double Master in Biomedical Sciences (M.Sc)

    With a successful participation and graduation of the Internatioanl Master Program in Biomedical Sciences (IMBS) you will receive two Master Degrees: the Master of Science Biomedical Sciences (MSc) of the University of Freiburg AND the Maestría in Biomedical Sciences of the University of Buenos Aires. 


    Zuletzt geändert am 08.05.2018